Who We Are

HBF is a volunteer organization overseen by a Board of Trustees. Volunteers can participate in various capacities that range from fundraising to project management to hands-on gardening.

The Board of Trustees includes community leaders with experience in fundraising, non-profit organizations, finance, and horticulture. Board members serve staggered three-year terms and are selected by a nominating committee from the current board. The Mayor is also a voting member. In addition, one Trustee is a member of, and designated by, the Hillsborough Garden Club.

Board Members 2015-16

President – Kjori Boyd
Vice President – Theodore S. Dobos
Secretary – Liz Jenson
Treasurer – Kathy Ceremsak

Jess E. (Jay) Benton, ex officio, Town of Hillsborough Council member
Candy Blanchard
Wendy Bolton
Louise Bonomo
Curt Brown
Tina Butler
Letty Callinan
Amy Conn
Patrick Gilligan
Victoria H. Hazelrig, ex officio, Hillsborough Garden Club member
Anne Longworth
Merrill L. Magowan
Peggy McLaughlin
Elizabeth F. O’Leary
Kate Sheeline, M.D.
Amy Underwood
Ruth J. Wisnom

Honorary Founding Trustees:

Victoria H. Hazelrig; Bailey L. Meyer; Janet M. Morris; Ruth J. Wisnom


HBF is made up of two primary committees, Development and Projects. Each committee selects new members based on need and interest from volunteers in the community. Over 60 volunteers currently make up the committees that enable HBF to have such a significant impact on the quality of life in Town.

Development Committee chair:  Candy Blanchard
Project Committee chair:  Wendy Bolton